My plans to delete my facebook page will come into effect tomorrow...
Just one in ten Facebook users supports 'timeline' feature
- Fewer than one in 10 Facebook users support its plans to make its biographical “timeline” feature compulsory.
- The majority of Facebook users do not want to use the timeline feature which is set to become compulsory
As part of a major overhaul of the site, all publicly viewable messages, comments and photographs will be grouped together by date.
The idea is to create an online scrap book telling the user’s virtual “life story” – at least back to 2004 when the site was founded.
It means that, unless they are deleted, any long forgotten musings, embarrassing photographs or even messages of affection for a past lover will be easily accessible.
At present other users can only find material from several years ago by trawling through past pages.
Critics claim that the change could erode users' privacy but Facebook insists that it will not make anything publicly available which is not already viewable.
A survey of 4,000 Facebook users by the security form Sophos found that only eight per cent of those polled said that they liked the change.
By contrast 51 per cent of those who took part said that they were “worried” by the new format while another eight per cent said that they would “get used to it”.
Users are to be notified in the next few weeks and then will be given seven days to go through their profiles deleting anything they do not want to be visible on their timeline.
Read more, Telegraph article.
I'm going to follow the advice given in this youtube video: